In International Manifesto Group, Talks

Date and Times

June 1, 2024

7 pm Moscow

5 pm London

4 pm UTC

11 am Central US

Register on Zoom here

About this Event

Russia’s foreign policy is undergoing the most momentous and historic shift, comparable not only to the early 1990s but arguably to the seventeenth century when Russia first turned its gaze to Europe under Peter the Great. In this webinar, Professor Sergei Karaganov, the foremost and most influential foreign policy and nuclear doctrine expert in Russia will be interviewed by Professors Richard Sakwa and Radhika Desai and will respond to audience questions about this epochal policy re-orientation, its main causes and drivers, and its implications for the war in Ukraine, the polarization of the world between the West and the World Majority and about his arresting proposals for Russia’s nuclear doctrine.

About the Participants

Sergei Karaganov

Sergei Karaganov is a Russian political scientist who heads the Council for Foreign and Defense Policy, a security analytical institution founded by Vitaly Shlykov. He is also the dean of the Faculty of World Economy and International Affairs at Moscow’s Higher School of Economics. Karaganov was a close associate of Yevgeny Primakov, and has been Presidential Advisor to both Boris Yeltsin and Vladimir Putin. He is considered close to Putin and Sergey Lavrov.

Karaganov has been a member of the Trilateral Commission since 1998, and served on the International Advisory Board of the Council on Foreign Relations. He has also been Deputy Director of the Institute of Europe at the USSR (now Russian) Academy of Sciences since 1983.

Richard Sakwa

Richard Sakwa is a British political scientist and a former professor of Russian and European politics at the University of Kent, a senior research fellow at the National Research University-Higher School of Economics in Moscow, and an honorary professor in the Faculty of Political Science at Moscow State University.

Radhika Desai

Radhika Desai is Professor in the Department of Political Studies and Director of the Geopolitical Economy Research Group at the University of Manitoba, Canada, and Convenor of the International Manifesto Group.

Sponsors

This event is sponsored by the International Manifesto Group and Orinoco Tribune.

IMG Logo

Orinoco Tribune logo

Recent Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search

Black Liberation and People's China: Rediscovering a History of Transcontinental Solidarity